© 2016  Erica Drake

© 2016  Erica Drake

Spring 2016: An Index of Possibility

fourteen|effects' spring program features works by composers Robert Honstein and Daniel Levitan.

Two works embodying two contrasting approaches to the infinite possibilities of the percussive world...

Robert Honstein's An Index of Possibility - "[A percussion trio that] explores the secret world of sound in everyday objects. Using found sounds, homemade constructions, and cheap toys, Index unlocks a sonic palette exploding with color and variety. Cast in six movements, the music traverses a symphonic expanse, fluidly moving between ambient textures, visceral unisons, and muscular virtuosity."

Daniel Levitan's Invention 6 is part of a collection of eight short works for percussion duo, each composed for unspecified instruments and including no markings for tempo or expression. Embracing the spirit of possibilityfourteen|effects has created THREE different realizations of the same piece, to be performed in succession - our own index of possibility of Levitan's composition.

© 2015 Erica Drake

Fall 2015: Finding Resonance

As percussionists we are challenged to explore different ways to create sound. In our inaugural season, fourteen|effects is presenting a program sharing different ways of finding resonance -- often in unexpected places and ways...

A progression of percussion music beginning with simple hand claps, incorporating visual composition, exploring a variety of found instruments, and culminating in three drummers simultaneously playing a single bass drum.

Instrumentation includes: tea cups, flower pots, metal pipes, planks of wood, steel mixing bowls, and suitcases.

Works by: Thierry de Mey, David Lang, Steve Reich, & Nebojsa Jovan Zivkovic

© 2016  Erica Drake


A suite of "packable vignettes" for percussion trio inspired by Leonardo da Vinci

fourteen|effects is commissioning fourteen diverse composers to each compose one short musical vignette for percussion trio. The resulting collection of pieces will be performed as a suite by fourteen|effects in 2016.

Composers currently involved in the project include: Jennifer Jolley, Douglas Detrick, Mendel Lee, Micah Hayes, and Neb Macura.

Stay tuned for more details!